Cell phones off-limits for teen drivers starting Nov. 1
By Meg Jones of the Journal Sentinel
Oct. 17, 2012 2:56 p.m.
Starting Nov. 1 it’ll be against the law in Wisconsin for teen drivers and others driving with an instruction permit or probationary license to use cell phones except to report an emergency.
The fine will be $20 to $40 for first offenses and $50 to $100 for another offense within a year.
Wisconsin law already prohibits texting while driving for all motorists.
According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, 11% of teen drivers involved in fatal crashes were distracted at the time of the accident – the age group with the largest proportion of distracted drivers. A national study reported 43% of 16- and 17-year-olds admitted talking on a cell phone while driving.
The new cell phone restrictions in Wisconsin will apply to drivers with probationary licenses including drivers licensed in other countries, people with suspended or revoked instruction permits or probationary licenses, new state residents who have less than three years of driving experience, new state residents under 21 and new state residents who surrender a license that’s been expired for more than six months.
As of last month, 32 states and the District of Columbia ban cell phone use by novice drivers, according to the Governors Highway Safety Association.
ABATE of Wisconsin Kenosha County